About a week ago my hubs turned 31.
I remember when that seemed old…
WHAAT?!?!

Last year was his golden birthday, but I’m blaming it on my pregnancy brain at that time that I did not get around to doing something special for him.

So, this year, not being pregnant, I had no excuse.
That, and I really wanted to show him some love on his 31st birthday.
Just because.

I tried to keep the plans a surprise, but I’m sure he had it figured out all along. We dropped off the baby at Grandpa & Grandma’s and headed to the city.
Tico’s Mexican for supper – PRCA Rodeo – Single Barrel country bar
Good food.  Great company.  Fun entertainment.
It was nothing short of fantastic.

The day of his actual birthday consisted of his ‘favorites.’

I made the flavored coffee.

1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (1)Now, for the best part and whole point of this blog.

Does someone you love often get a hankering for sticky caramel rolls?
I know someone of that nature.
My 31-year old husband.
So, I thought would make his fave for breakfast for him (and me…).

This recipe originated from his great-aunt, Jean, and has been one of their family faves for what sounds like a long, yummy time.  It is super easy and you do not have to spend hours needing the dough, cutting, rolling, rising and all that jazz that goes with homemade cinnamon rolls.  And, these are pretty much fool proof if you use the correct kind of pudding.
Yes, I said pudding.

Here’s what you need:
2 loaves frozen white bread dough
1/2 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 large package cook & serve vanilla pudding (key ingredient)
1 Tablespoons milk
cinnamon

  • Thaw bread dough, but keep it in the fridge to keep it from rising.
  • Cut the loaf into walnut-sized pieces and place in a greased 9″x13″ pan.
  • Melt butter, add sugar, pudding mix, milk and cinnamon, then pour half of that mixture over the bread dough pieces.
  • Then, cut the second loaf into pieces and place on top of the first layer.
  • Pour the rest of the butter/sugar mixture over the dough.
  • Let rise 2 1/2 – 3 hours.  Bake 30 minutes at 350`.

Delicious!  These rolls also freeze well.

Pressed for time?  I actually let the entire loaf unthaw overnight in the fridge, put the rolls together in the morning and skipped the 2 1/2 – 3 rise before baking.  It still turned out just fine.  Also, because there are only two of us, I cut the recipe in half using a 9″x9″ pan and a little less baking time.

OMGosh.  Can you smell them?

1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (3)If that doesn’t get you out of bed in the morning, I’m not sure what will.

1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (4)I know you want to just reach out your finger and savor that caramel drizzling on the edge of the plate.  Don’t worry, I already took care of that for you.  :)

1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (5)Then the baby woke.

1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (10)Those two were up to their morning shenanigans, as usual.

1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (15)Then, they were off to brush teeth.  Well, one of them anyway.

1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (17)We had his family over that night – those who live in Davenport – and enjoyed two more birthday faves: German chocolate cake and homemade ice cream.
I may just have to share those recipes some time, too.

All 31 candles fit on the cake!1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (20)1-30-13 Ryan 31st bday (24)Go bake and brew a cozy pot of coffee to share with your loved ones some caramely, sticky roll goodness.
You do not have to wait for birthdays.

